You say ‘Jump!’ (Recipe)

I say, ‘How high?’

These past couples days have been a mixture of energy and exhaustion. Now that I have new found energy, I push myself, then I’m exhausted. I’ll eventually find a happy medium. Hopefully.

Yesterday I experienced the digestive issues that Patti had warned me about. While it felt miserable, it also felt like cleansing. Like all this junk was just ready to… well come out. I’ll leave it at that, and wont go into too many details. haha

Aaaanyways… yesterday I baked some amazing peanut butter banana muffins, and would you believe they had NO flour or processed sugar in them?! Muffins with NO flour or sugar… doesn’t sound like it can be done, but I assure you it can. They were the moistest muffins too! I’ll post the blog page I found them on and the recipe below.

Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

recipe from detoxinista.com

  • 1 cup organic peanut butter
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed (about 1 cup mashed)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Chopped walnuts (or chocolate chips/raisins/sliced banana)

Preheat oven to 350*F. Line a muffin tray with liners. To mash the bananas, I started by mashing them between my fingers but I wasn’t getting the desired consistency, so I put them in a plate-bowl, and used a fork until they were fairly smooth. Then I mixed all the ingredients except the nuts in one bowl. I beat it with a fork until things were reeeaaally smooth. Then I added the nuts, and incorporated them in. Using a 1/4 measuring cup or a large cookie scoop, I filled the muffin liners, and then baked everything for 15+ min. Depending on your oven, mine needed a little longer for the muffins to set and turn golden on top. I would definitely check out the blog for better details! The tops of mine sunk, and once they cool the consistency is more muffin like, but they still aren’t your typical muffin. They are so much better for you though then the ones loaded with flour and sugar. This was a new experience for me, because I love to bake, and I used to go through unbleached flour like crazy in our house, but I don’t want to jump back into that cycle. I’m hoping to try out more of the recipes found over on her blog. Especially combining these two recipes: Raw Chocolate and Frozen Banana Truffles. There’s no processed sugar, yeah!

Last night for dinner I made teriyaki salmon over a bed of basmati rice with steamed broccoli. I’ve never really liked salmon, whereas Mister loves it, well last night he didn’t like it, and I ate almost all of mine! The teriyaki sauce was homemade, and he didn’t care for it. Poor little duffer. 😦 But I also made the My Glass is Greener juice.

This evening we had an older couple over that are some friends of our’s to watch a marriage video and answer discussion questions. The evening begins with dinner, and today I made a potato and leek soup (without dairy), baking powder biscuits, and carrot sticks. But I also had the remainder of a juice I made for Mister and myself. Today’s juice was fantastic. It’s called Glowing Skin, here is the recipe.

  • 2 cucumbers
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • 3-4 green apples
  • 2 C pineapple (4-5 pineapple spears)
  • 1 C mint

It was sooo good! I know it’s because it had a lot of fruit in it, but still! Yum!

I bought an avocado today so that for lunch tomorrow I will made myself a sandwich of avocado, red onion, lettuce, and sprouts. I’m a little nervous because I a sandwich in my mind has always been deli meat, with cheese, lettuce, and salt + pepper. So this should be interesting! I hope everyone that is still strictly on juice is doing well, you’re incredible to keep at it! For those of you like me, that have added a meal, I hope we’re all making healthy choices! Take Mike’s suggestion to have your meal at lunch time so that you’re not going to bed with food in your tummy! Oh, and if you’re dying for a baked good, check out detoxinista! Also, just in case you needed a reason to buy a food processor: banana ice cream.

Good night! 😀

One thought on “You say ‘Jump!’ (Recipe)

  1. Hi, Freckles! Sorry you had those digestive issues. But it’s a normal part of the process and thinking of it as a good cleansing is the way to look at it. 🙂

    Wow! Those muffins sound great! I’ll have to try and make some! Thanks for the awesome recipe!

    Glad you are feeling good. Don’t overdo it too much and get too exhausted. Take care of yourself, honey, and get lots of rest when you feel so tired!

    **BIG HUGS**

    Love & Hugs!

    Patti 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

