Day 7 (Recipe)

It’s almost been a full week since I started the Juice Cleanse! I’ve had the weirdest craving to eat a whole tub of peanut butter and a whole tube of Sour Cream and Onion Pringles, it’s strange because I don’t even like Pringles! I had the hardest time falling asleep last night because of this. I Googled “Food Cravings and what they mean” but all I could find is that I need to eat more fish, nuts, and calorie rich foods. I can definitely understand the calorie rich food. I’m having a really tough time with my Juice Fast. I try to drink as much as juice as I can, but sometimes I don’t have the energy to make one. In the mean time my head is dizzy, and sometimes I see black dots. That’s my warning sign to shape up, and make a juice! As I mentioned in my post yesterday, when I drink a juice with a high fruit percentage I have a spike of energy, during this spike I’ll either try to exercise or my house is falling into chaos, so I try to clean as much as possible. Then I just want to sleep. I sit now way more than I did before, and I lounge because I have no energy.  It gets overwhelming and frustrating sometimes worrying that you’re not getting the nutrients you need, and seeing that your house is a mess but all you can do is stare at it with a blank stare.

For breakfast this morning, I made an Orange and Mango juice, which was fantastic!

  • three oranges (peeled)
  • three mangoes (peeled, pit removed)

When I made this this morning, I only used one of each, and it hardly made anything, so I’ll use three of each when I make it again. Mister and I also juiced a grapefruit + two red apples. We added unflavored seltzer water to the juice, and it was a little bitter, but refreshing. I just learned that seltzer water is nothing more than carbonized water. I have always figured it was full of terrible ingredients for you, similar to soda pop.

For lunch I made the Green Lemonade found on rebootwithjoe.com, but don’t be fooled, it doesn’t taste like lemonade whatsoever. >.< Just because something has half a lemon in it, that does not make it lemonade. It’s still just a green juice through and through, much to my disappointment. lol

4 thoughts on “Day 7 (Recipe)

  1. Hi, Freckles! Hang in there! It sounds like you are still doing very well! I SO ADMIRE & RESPECT your dedication to your Reboot. YOU CAN DO THIS!!!!

    Me? I gave up on Day 6 and transitioned to eating something. I just couldn’t take it anymore. The hunger pangs were driving me insane and I just couldn’t get a decent night’s rest.

    So I revised my plan to 1 or 2 juices a day and then 1 or 2 healthy portion-controlled mostly plant-based meals and snacks. Yesterday, I didn’t juice at all and ate 4 tiny meals and it FELT great! I had some diarrhea at first (hours after I ate) but that was normal.

    But, I don’t regret the 5-day Reboot, as it really helped me realize a few things:

    1. I’m STRONG. If I can do that I can do ANYTHING. AND, I lost 5 lbs! My facial skin has never looked better! (And I had a rash on my backside that is gone!)

    2. I just can’t go juicing “cold turkey.” It’s too hard (for ME!).

    3. I will continue to make juicing a daily part of my life.

    4. I just can’t go “cold turkey” off my diabetes medications either. It’s going to have to be a slow transition — like my weight loss.

    5. My blog was becoming too obsessive for me so I shut it down. I was stressing out sooooo much to get it updated each day. I’m still tracking my weekly exercise and weight loss via the Microsoft Health Vault.

    I’m still exercising everyday on The Beast! I’m up from 2.5 minutes to 3 minutes a session now!

    I hope you don’t think too badly of me for abandoning the 30-day/60-day Reboot goal I had & switching up my plan to something a bit different…

    I will continue to follow your blog (as I truly love reading it!) and offer as much support as I can and let you know how I’m doing with my weekly weight loss.

    I think YOU ROCK!

    **BIG HUGS**

    Love & Hugs!

    Patti 🙂 ❤

    • Patti, you have no idea how happy your comment made me. I have been struuuuggling with this Juice Cleanse, and was literally in tears around the time you posted your comment. I’ve been ignoring the signs that my body has been giving me and worrying instead about letting other people down, and being a ‘quitter’. I completely understand about having to shut down your blog. It is stressful to feel an obligation to update it constantly! I’ve been doing the Juice Cleanse to improve my health, and also to lose a little weight, because honestly, who DOESN’T want to lose weight? But losing weight wasn’t my top priority and my body has been struggling. I literally can’t get a thing done during the day my energy levels are so low. I think I would be much better off if I could keep up with exercise and still juice for 2 of my meals during the day. My biggest concern with this decision is letting people down though, I don’t want anyone to think that THEY can’t do it, just because this thing’s kicking my butt! I really appreciate your motivation and your admiration, and I wish it could LITERALLY carry me through this, but I really need to have myself and my body be my main concern. Just like the theme of your blog had been. “2013…The Year of Me!” I need to focus on the signs my body is giving me that I’m just not getting enough with just the juicing! I hope I haven’t disappointed you, and I hope you know that you’re my hero!

      • Oh, hon, you haven’t disappointed me at all and don’t you worry about letting anyone else down. YOU do what is RIGHT for YOU and YOUR BODY! You can still be there to support other folks on the Reboot forum but don’t feel anything except PRIDE in yourself for taking care of what’s BEST FOR YOU!

        And… I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND! TRULY!

        I think you idea to add in a healthy meal or two (like me!) is just the ticket. Hey, you went 6 days! 6 days! Nothing but juice & water for 6 days! I AM PROUD OF YOU! YOU SHOULD BE PROUD OF YOURSELF, TOO!

        I didn’t juice at all yesterday or today, to be honest. Took a break. However, I’m going to work in one juice tomorrow as a meal replacement. I think I’ll do that for a week and see how that’s working with my weight loss and then if I think I need to increase to two juices and only two meals a day (small meals each) then I’ll try that the following week!

        I’m here to support you and cheer you on no matter what! YAY FRECKLES! YAY ME!!!!

        Love & Hugs!

        Patti 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

