Best Decision For Me

I’ve been praying and seriously considering adding a small light meal to my days. I’ve been doing the Juice Cleanse to improve my health, and also to lose a little weight, but losing weight wasn’t my top priority and my body has been struggling. I literally can’t get a thing done during the day my energy levels are so low. I think I would be much better off if I could keep up with exercise and still juice for 2 of my meals during the day. My biggest concern with this decision is letting people down; I don’t want anyone to think that THEY can’t do it, just because my body can’t handle it.

Some positive things that I am taking away from my experience:

1.  A new appreciation for drinking plenty of water. This is something I really struggled with before my Cleanse.

2. No longer dependent upon getting a sugar fix every day.

3. I will still be juicing for the majority of my meals for the remainder of the 30 days, and then continuing juicing after.

I don’t have any major or minor health problems to start with, but now I can rest assured that my body is getting the nutrients it needs through juicing. I have a tough time eating a handful of spinach and three kale stalks in one sitting, so discovering that I can juice them has been wonderful!

I’m so proud of the progress that everyone is making in their own Juicing Adventure!

13 thoughts on “Best Decision For Me

    • Jacqui, thanks so much for the understanding and encouragement. 😀 I’ll periodically post juice recipes and regular recipes that I find and/or make, but I’m not going to stress about posting at least 3 times a day! That was getting to be too much. >.<

  1. Good for you, Freckles! I think you are making the right decision. The smart decision. I AM SO PROUD OF YOU FOR DOING A 6-DAY REBOOT! AWESOME! YOU ROCK!

    I had the most delicious little salad tonight. I roasted three fresh beets in one of my Romertopf clay pots along with some fresh thickly chopped carrots (both organic). I kept the greens and stems, chopped them into medium pieces and sauteed them for a few minutes in some EVOO until they were just wilted. Put them in a bowl and stuck ’em in the fridge. Once the carrots and beets were done, I peeled the beets under cold water (once they cooled, of course) and then sliced them julienne style. I tossed the beets and the carrots into the bowl in the fridge and mixed it up with my hands really well.

    When I was ready for dinner, I scooped out my salad mixture into a small bowl, tossed in a few grapes, blueberries and some fresh alfalfa sprouts (I sprout my own to avoid E-coli risks) a handful of mixed nuts & seeds I keep in my freezer. I topped it off with some homemade vinaigrette (EVOO + ACV), some freshly ground black pepper and a pinch of sea salt and VOILA! Beautiful healthy, fresh salad. I still have lots left in the fridge to eat for the next few days. YUMMY!

    Again, I am SO PROUD of YOU!

    Love & Hugs!

    Patti 🙂 ❤

    • Oh my goodness, Patti, THAT sounds amazing! I should try roasted beets before I knock ’em all together.
      Thanks for being proud of me. I feel a little like a quitter, but I know this is what is best for my body! So thanks for being awesome and making me feel better about my decision! 😀
      ❤ ❤ ❤

      • Give yourself a break from the juicing for one or two days. YOU WILL FEEL BETTER, BELIEVE ME! Just be sure to eat as healthy as you can for those two days. 🙂 Then, you can start adding the juicing back into your daily schedule.

        Once you get to feeling better (the first day will be rough as you may get some digestive issues) you will feel awesome and will be able to sleep better and then you won’t feel like beating yourself so much for not sticking to an entire 30-day juice fast (which I am beginning to think is damn-near impossible for normal folks). Which is why they probably don’t have that reboot plan listed on the website. The longest period of time ANYONE does JUICING ONLY via those Reboot Plans (if you read them) is 5 days, I think.

        So, give yourself a much needed break and eat something. You’ll feel better and have a better outlook and more energy in 24 hours if you do. I promise. 🙂

        YOU ARE NOT A QUITTER! YOU are BEING SMART! (That’s what my sweet hubby told me on Day 6.) 🙂

        Love & Hugs!

        Patti 🙂 ❤

  2. You’re not letting anyone down, you have to do what’s right for you. I am on Day 9 and was only going to do a 10 Juice fast but I feel great so I am going to carry on. My health is my main priority but I also need to lose quite a bit of weight. Everyone is different, so don’t feel bad. I’ll still be checking in to read you daily posts.
    Lainey

  3. Kudos for doing the 7-day reboot. My wife and I did the same thing and the weight did come off. After the 7-days we decided, like yourself, to add a small meal. We choose to make it lunch since eating earlier in the day gives you more of an opportunity to burn it off. This is opposed to eating a meal in the evening and just having it sit there….LOL. Our meal consists of a salad (stuff you’d juiced anyway) and 4 oz of baked chicken. We make our own dressing (Unfiltered vinegar and some spicy mustard for zing). We are starting our second week of doing this and frankly feel just fine. We do 4 other juices during the day so are still at it. The weight is still coming off, although not as much as quick, but it’s more of a realistic rate and healthy as well.

    The reboot was just that, a reset of all the years (at least for me) of bad habits. It a matter of choices and lifestyle. My wife and I enjoy the juices so won’t be giving this up. It’s a new beginning.

    Incorporate smart eating with your juicing and you’ll reach you goal and, more importantly, maintain the weight loss.

    Hope to hear how you’re doing so do keep us posted.

    Good luck and God bless!

    PS: Don’t forget to let us know how much you dropped during your reboot.

    • Mike, that makes so much sense to add the meal in at lunch so that the food doesn’t sit in your belly overnight. That thought hadn’t even crossed my mind! I have also decided to eat vegetables and a lean meat, sometimes maybe a little pasta, because, well, I love pasta. >.< But I know I should avoid flour and sugar like the plague!
      It's so encouraging to me that there are other folks who are adding meals to their juicing as well, and that they're still getting their desired results!
      My husband loooves the juices that I've been making, but I wasn't sharing with him, now I am! He's ecstatic about that. haha
      I added a post with my weight loss results from my 7 days. It was 6 lbs. If I had had the energy to exercise and move more I'm sure it would have been more.
      Thanks so much for your comment. 😀

      • Glad to hear your husband loves the juices. Makes it easier to continue making them. Making juices for 2 certainly creates a lot of pulp…LOL. My wife dehydrates the pulp and makes good treats for our two pugs.

        Six pounds, that’s awesome. Gald your energy level has perked up. I will admit and tell everyone I talk to you can count on feeling lousy for 8 to 10 days. I frankly think it all depends on the number of years you’ve “abused” your system. I could be wrong, but that’s my take.

        BTW, I’ve been meaning to ask you where do you guys call home? I saw the one post about your temperatures….brrrrrrrrrrr. We’re in Maryland and it’s too cold here.

        Good luck on your continued journey to good health.

        God bless your family.

        Mike

      • Hi Mike, I like your idea about dehydrating the pulp for treats! Do y’all have a dehydrator, or do you use the oven?
        My husband and I are on the border of Canada, and it got down to -20*F last night! Yikes, too cold for me! My momma’s family is waaay down in Texas, and I always wanted to move South when I moved out of the house, but then I got married and my Mister brought me as far north as you can go while still remaining in the U.S. >.< Good thing I love this man! lol
        I so appreciate how you end your messages with the Lord's blessings, not many people do these days. 😀
        God bless you and your family!

      • Greetings! -20, I’d moved….LOL. Drag your husband with you…
        Yes, we have a dehydrator. My wife bought the Excalibur 5 tray model. Another favorite treat the dogs just love are sweet potatoes! They run like nuts when they know they are getting one of their favorites. We have two pugs and if we’re not careful they can really “blow up.” They haven’t started “juicing” yet…. 🙂

        Reference juicing, my scale seems to be stuck this week. Typically I’ve been seeing a half pound loss almost daily. I guess I have hit one of those proverbial plateaus. Hopefully it’s just temporary. Weird things is, we started going back to the gym and doing 40 minutes of cardio. You’d think the scale would move some! My official weigh in day is Monday so we’ll see what happens on the 28th.

        On a personal note, I like you am a God fearing christian. I love my Lord and Savior and truly worship His holy name. One of my favorites preachers, beside my own, is John MacArthur. He preaches the gospel message and makes no bones about it and doesn’t sugar coat things. You can listen to him at http://www.gty.org. He’s been with his church in California since 1969. He’s truly a man of God. I encourage you to give him a listen. You’ll be blessed.

        You take care and talk to you soon.

        Yours in Christ,

        Mike

Leave a Reply

