Day 6 (Recipe)

Time: 1:00pm -It’s day 6 already?? Wow!  Sorry this blog post is so late into the day, it’s been a busy day! I had an eye doctor’s appointment early this morning because it’s been 6 years since my last ‘check up’. My eyes are darn near perfect, thankfully. My left eye is perfect, and my right is only off by a little click. After my appointment, Mister and I ran some errands since we were already in town, and because I didn’t have a chance to do my shopping yesterday. I was at the grocery store trying to think of different greens I could be having in my juices, and I saw arugula and alfalfa sprouts! So I bought a tub of each, along with a bunch of other stuff, and by the time we got home I was hungry. For lunch I made a juice of my own creation, and if you like spicy and sweet depths to a juice, then you may really like this. I loved it! Mister did as well. I give him sips of all the juices I make. He really likes them, and I told him I would start making juices for him as well, but for $10 a glass. My juices are my food so I can’t be sharing half of it, when it’s my meal, unless I plan around making enough for two people. He understands, but he thinks my price is too steep. ;P But without further ado, here is the recipe. I still haven’t come up with a name for it.

  • big handfuls spinach
  • 1 handful arugula
  • 1 big pinch of alfalfa sprouts (or any kind of sprouts)
  • 5 leaves romaine lettuce
  • 1/2-1 cucumber
  • 1 d’anjou pear
  • 1 medium green apple
  • 1 spear pineapple
  • 1 lemon

This recipe made 20-25 fl. oz. I made romaine-sprout sandwiches to get the sprouts down the chute. The spinach and arugula I ball up if I’ve run out of lettuce leaves.

I love that the initial taste is sweet, but then it’s spicy from the arugula. Yum! I’ve drank half of it so far, and saving the rest for a snack in a little bit. Sometimes I feel like I just want a big spoonful of the leftover mashed potatoes in the fridge. ‘Nobody has to know,’ I tell myself. Then I think, ‘I’ll only be hurting myself!’ So I grab a juice and drink. Then I feel better!

 

Time: 7:15pm -So I’ve noticed a pattern. I drag myself around the house, exhausted, finally find the energy to make a juice, and then half an hour after I drink a juice I AM OFF THE WALLS! Then I crash. Well Mister, who apparently is my own personal nutritionist, really noticed the pattern, and we decided it’s because the juices I am making contain too much fruit and I’ve only been drinking about 2-3 bigger juices a day, instead of the 4-5 smaller ones that I had planned for. In order to kick my fruit dependency I decided I would make a dinner juice which didn’t contain any fruit except a little lime. It was… an experience. The recipe was for Homemade V8 and I found the recipe here, but I didn’t have a couple of the things, so I either omitted them or substituted them. I never liked V*

Homemade V8

  • 4 Plum Tomatoes
  • 1 Large Cucumber
  • 1 Green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup Parsley – leaves & stems
  • 1 Lime

I think if I had had a jalapeño, I would have added that, but it was really missing the red onion that the original recipe calls for. I didn’t have any red onions though. 😦

I certainly missed the fruit, but I’ve got to bite the bullet!

Leave a Reply

