Day 5 (Updated-Recipe)

It’s Day 5 already!

The Time is 10:02: The Good News: I slept like a rock last night. Our house is configured really strangely, our bedroom has a door which leads to the kitchen and a door which leads to the hall. Well, instead of locking the cats upstairs, we slept with earplugs, blocked off the kitchen doorway with a big folding table and blanket, and put two fans by the door to the hallway. Needless to say, I didn’t wake up to pitiful yowling once! Thank goodness! I got some much needed sleep. It was like having an infant, except with a baby they usually just want to be fed or have their diaper changed. This… this was nothing I could help with. lol

The Bad News: It got down to -8*F with a wind chill of -17*F last night, sooooo our pipes leading into the kitchen are frozen, therefore, I have no where to wash my produce! >.< It just seems like it’s been one thing after another. Thankfully, I can still shower! I could probably somehow rig it so I can wash them in the bathroom, but that seems yucky to me. If we can’t thaw the pipes soon, I may end having to do that just so I can get some juice in me and not faint. I know that doing this Juice Cleanse is easily one of the best things I will ever do for my body, so no amount of obstacles are going to stop me!

plan to have a Morning Green Glory for breakfast, because I really enjoy that juice, and I need a pick me up! One of these days everything is going to go according to my perfectly laid out schedule in the sidebar! lol

Time: 11:57 -Pipes are still frozen in the kitchen, but Mister helped me fill some big bowls with water, and I set up a washing station. I’m 3/4 of the way through my Morning Green Glory juice, and I’m starting to feel much better.  My kitten, Hannah, ate a kale leaf that I gave her because she loves fresh veggies. My other cat, Rae, doesn’t like them, but she loves peanut butter. Speaking of peanut butter, I wish I had a nice big spoonful right now. *drools* I guess my food cravings are definitely still with  me! I wasn’t feeling well yesterday, so I didn’t get a chance to go grocery shopping, so I’ll be doing that today. Still haven’t put together a recipe for the rest of the week. I’m stopping at the library though and picking up a book called, “Juice! 101 recipes” and then using that I’ll go from there! I’ll post any really tasting looking recipes I find. I definitely need to start drinking more variety of different colored colored, or I’ll probably cause my body more harm than good. So many recipes call for beets, and I still can’t stomach the taste of them! >.<

CatConvo

Time: 7:10 –I somehow managed to drink my dinner juice on time this evening. Woot woot! I made something that I thought I might like that I haven’t made before. I remember reading a list of fruits and vegetables that are really good for your skin and give it a nice glow. Well, sweet potatoes were on that list, and who doesn’t want glowing skin?!  I know I do! So I made a simple recipe, I’m going to call it Apple-Sweet Potato Juice because that’s all there is in it! haha

Soooo here is my recipe:

  • 2 large garnet yams (sweet potatoes)
  • 2 small or 1 1/2 large gala apples (or pink ladies)

That’s it! I didn’t peel anything, but the yam skins didn’t juice through my juicer. 😦 This recipe made 20 fl. oz. and it was the most gorgeous orange color I’ve ever seen! I drank as much as I could before I started to get kind of sick and tired of the taste, so I put it back in the fridge thinking I’d sip at it later. Well later is now, and I took a sip and thought, “I liked this?!?!” Instead of throwing it out, or giving it to Mister Garbage-Disposal (it’s a term of endearment, I promise. lol) I added a little bit of ground cinnamon, ground ginger and ground nutmeg. It tastes like a baked dessert now. Yummy!

One thought on “Day 5 (Updated-Recipe)

  1. Good afternoon, Freckles! Happy DAY 5!!! 🙂

    Aw, your kitties are adorable! Love it that Hannah likes fresh greens! Rae is beautiful. I’m with her — lurve peanut butter! So cute! Your Hannah reminds me so much of our Sora. She was a blue (gray) tabby, too. ❤

    I am SO HAPPY to hear that you slept well! (Wish I could. Just having a hard time being able to relax. I'm still tossing and turning for hours trying to take my mind off my hunger pangs. I'm going to try and squeeze in three juices today. I think that may be the problem. However, my schedule is late again!

    How awful that your pipes froze. SUCKS! What a sweet fella your Mister is! It's so wonderful how you fight back at each obstacle that your house keeps throwing your way this week! Atta girl!

    I'm going to have to make a grocery trip this weekend to get more greens. I'm out of Kale and cucumber and almost out of spinach. I'm sorry to hear you hate beets so much. I wish I could think of something that would mask their flavor but I'm clueless.

    Wishing you much success and a wonderful day!

    Love & Hugs,

    Patti 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

