Day 4 (Recipe x2)

Time: 9:40 am -I have a new plan. I’m going to lock my cats in an upstairs room with water and their litter box at night. That may sound merciless, but it’s actually this huge room with empty bunk beds where we store all our stuff, similar to an attic, but it’s a room. It’s usually closed off to them, so when I go in there to do something and they follow me in, they have a blast! So it’s really going to be like a vacation for them, and much needed sleep for me!

I’m just now drinking my breakfast juice, so clearly my schedule is still waaay off track. But thankfully, I am really enjoying my juice. It’s not posted on my Weekly Menu because that is all out of whack as well. I forgot to buy somethings when I went grocery shopping, so now I’m just winging it! I heard about a book called The Juicing Bible, I would definitely suggest checking to see if your library carries the book. I’ve heard good things about it. Unfortunately, my library doesn’t carry it, but they do carry similar books. So if you’re in need of some new inspiration for recipes, then utilize your local library! I love going to the library. One of my dreams is to have a small hobby farm for self sufficiency, so I was checking out 7-8 books at a time. When I wanted to make a fancier quilt than the block ones I’ve made in the past, I checked out 12 books at once! I love knowledge and understanding and filling my head with as much information as I can on as many subjects that matter to me as I can.

But anyways, my breakfast juice recipe for the day is surprisingly good, if you like cabbage, which I happen to love raw cabbage, Mister does as well. I’m going to call this recipe “Bunny Juice”  because bunny rabbits like to nibble on and eat the main ingredients!

Bunny Juice:

  • 5 inch disk of cabbage*
  • 5 leaves of romaine
  • 2 d’anjou pears
  • 1/2 a lemon

*Imagine a head of cabbage that is missing the rounded end (the end opposite of the ‘stem’), I sliced it on this end, where it holds together as a disk, from somewhere towards the middle, or where ever it need be to be roughly this size.

This recipe made 20 fl. oz. and it was a perfect breakfast! It’s simple, yet still delicious. If 2 pears is too much, you can just add one. Green apples would also be delicious in this recipe!

I can’t wait to do my exercising today! Even if I smell absolutely horrendous afterwards! When I start to work up a sweat, I can really tell the detox is doing it’s job. P-U!

Time: 10:33 – This is just what everyone wants to hear about, I know! I’ve been feeling really gassy this morning, and I thought to myself, “Hmmm… this one feels a little different rumbling around inside.” So just to be cautious I went down to the restroom. All I can say is, if you’ve seen Bucket List you may know what I’m thinking, if you haven’t here is a clip. Pay particular attention to the third life lesson that he mentions (the second one is crude, and the rest of the clip has nothing to do with what I’m trying to say. But I couldn’t find a shorter clip. Sorry.) This is especially important if you work in an office.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91MfdqM3gaQ

Now I promise I wont talk about it anymore for today! I just wanted to be pass on some helpful advice! lol

Time: 11:06 -So I just realized, after having read a question someone posted in the rebootwithjoe.com forums, that when I made Mister’s granola yesterday I licked a maple syrup drop off the bottle! I hadn’t even thought a single thing of it. I just always do it when a drip falls. I made this blog so that I would be accountable for things like that though. Now if I come back on here and say that I ate a whole bowl of pasta, somebody slap me! lol

Time: 3:00 -I was feeling light headed this afternoon after doing my exercises so I immediately made myself a juice and took 3 quart sized mason jars and filled them with water. I’ll leave them on the counter and make sure each day that I drink all 3 of them, as a minimum! I have a terrible habit of not thinking to drink enough water, but I read the tip of pre-measuring your water for the day in the morning over in the rebootwithjoe forums, I think Kim might have said it. It has really helped!

I really like the taste of juices that have a lot of fruit but I worry about drinking too much of the fruit sugars. So for my lunch/midafternoon snack, I made myself a juice that I’ll call ‘Bottoms Up.’ It is the most unappetizing color, and consists mainly of veggies, so I really have to close my eyes and not think about it as I drink it! It helps to drink it through a straw as well. If you like veggie juices then you wont have a problem with this one!

Bottoms Up:

  • 3 stalks of kale
  • 1/8 cup fresh parsley
  • 4 carrots
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 pear

This recipe made 20 fl. oz. and so far I’ve drank half of it. I’m struggling with it though, so I may juice half of a pineapple spear and add that to it. If I were to make it again, I would use half of a pear and half of a granny smith apple. It’s just missing a dimension of tartness.

Time: 5:50 -Mister is currently sitting right next to me, eating the most delicious smelling homemade Chinese dumplings that we get from a local hole-in-the-wall Asian Food Market. My tummy is gruuumbling. I think to myself, “Just a little bite… please, just one little bite.” Mister is really good about refusing me, and helping me. I may want to tear his head off for it sometimes, but I know I’m not really going to eat it anyways. I’m drinking another Bottoms Up with the addition of half an apple, and half a pineapple spear. It’s still not really doing it for me, but it’s palatable. I’ll probably make another juice this evening with some sweet potato and split it with Mister, I’m worried I haven’t been drinking enough juice with my schedule being thrown off track. I can’t wait until bed time tonight, I feel so tired. So if you’re not on a super energy high during this Juice Cleanse, don’t worry, you’re not the only one! lol It could also be attributed to my lack of sleep though. We’re seriously considering getting out cats fixed. We feel like zombies today. Except I don’t want to eat brrrraaaaaaiiiiiiins! 😛

2 thoughts on “Day 4 (Recipe x2)

  1. Super tips on the juice recipes. The juice bible is just that. I worked with two celery sticks, three tomatoes, 1/4 lemon, 1 inch ginger and some hot sauce to make a do-it-yourself V8. It hit the spot.
    Glad to be working on this with ya 😉 go team juice!
    I’ll try cabbage this weekend.

  2. **BIG HUGS OF UNDERSTAND & SUPPORT** to you, Freckles! I totally get it about the out of whack schedule. Believe me! Sorry your kitties are still wreaking havoc on your sleep. I hope your idea about THE ROOM works well tonight!

    First, love all your juicing recipes! Thanks for the tips about the juicing book! I lurve going to the library so I will definitely have to take your advice! (We have a brand new library being built in downtown Lawrence right now and I can’t wait until it’s done!)

    Second, so sorry you had digestive issues today. Ahem. NO FUN! I hope that gets better (if it hasn’t already) real soon! My son warned me about the digestive side effects and I haven’t had any yet. Still waiting for those to arrive. Also, he told me that I shouldn’t worry about drinking as much juice as the initial Reboot Guide instructs for the “Quick Start” schtuff (where it shows 2 glasses of hot water with lemon/ginger to start the day, then juice for breakfast, coconut water for mid-morning snack, juice for lunch, juice for afternoon snack, juice for dinner and dessert juice). I’m only able to get in two juices per day so far. I know once I get my schedule back on a more normal day shift (rather than midday shift) that I can probably do three juices a day. 🙂

    Third, you’ll get there with the water consumption. It’s just a new habit you have to make for yourself. I just have a big mug that I sip from all day long and every time I get to the bottom, I go fill it up with ice and water again and repeat, repeat, repeat. (Of course, I’ve been drinking water as my main beverage since I was in my 20s so at least that’s not an issue for me. It’s nice to be ahead of the game on SOMETHING! lol) 🙂

    I totally understand about the fear of too many sweet juices. But, I think if you limit your fruit-based juices to less than veggie-based juices each day then it won’t be a problem. Being diabetic, I’m limiting myself (at first) to only one fruit-based juice a day and the rest will be veggie-based. Don’t mean I won’t be adding green apples, pears, blueberries, etc.. to my veggie-based juices for nutrition. I will just make sure that my veggie-to-fruit ratio stays on high end of the veggie scale (so to speak). 🙂

    WISHING YOU A GREAT EVENING!

    Love & Hugs,

    Patti 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

