Morning Green Glory (Recipe)

This morning’s breakfast was surprisingly delicious! I woke up rather late, since it’s my last morning to sleep in, but as soon as I got up I started washing and prepping fruit and veggies! I had found a green recipe online that sounded good, but after my experience with my last green recipe, I though, “I’m going to make this delicious right from the start!” So I loosely based my recipe on the one and found, and I am so glad I did!

I’m really excited to share this one: IMG_6964-small

  • 3 kale stalks
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 3 leaves of romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 2 green apples
  • 1 green pear
  • 1 lemon

(This recipe make 25 fl. oz.!)

I quartered the apples and pear, and peeled the lemon. When I used spinach in a recipe before I found it was kind of hard to get it to flow nicely down to the juicer blade, so I actually made a “spinach sandwich” with two pieces of romaine letter. I took one leaf and filled the center with spinach, folded it in half “hot dog style” and then wrapped another leaf around that covering the opening.  It worked great! But that didn’t hold all my spinach, so I stuffed my kale stalks “hot dog style” with spinach as well, and let me tell, it worked like a charm! I hold them closed until I get them into the shoot of the juicer, then zing! Other than that, I didn’t do anything too fancy with the food prep.  This is a pretty easy recipe, and it’s delicious! Win win! I put two ice cubes in it and placed it in the fridge while I washed the dishes!

An example of my kale sandwich and my finished juice: IMG_6994_small

IMG_6983_small

3 thoughts on “Morning Green Glory (Recipe)

  1. I feel ready to start a cleanse.. And I know the hardest part is saying not eating with others/explaining to my friends and co workers. I’m going to take the dive for five days on Monday. If I can do that, I’ll shoot for a 21-day reboot.
    My problem is that I seem to yo-yo, now that I’m in my 30s I hope this time around I can level out after the cleanse big push. I did a 21 day reboot last year, lost 29lbs and have since gained it all back in the last 6-months because, well, I don’t really know. I was really happy at my cleanse weight. Oy.
    Happy to keep in touch here and try to support others on the path.

  2. Good afternoon, Freckles! Sounds like you are having a much better day today! WTG!

    Hey, this juice recipe sounds AMAZING! I can’t wait to try it. Going to put it in my recipe file right away!

    You seem to really have a knack for this already! The tip about rolling up the spinach in the romaine leaves and kale stalks? AWESOME! I really, really am thankful that you have posted so many delicious-sounding juice recipes already. With the ones I have in my Reboot With Joe cookbook plus yours, I should have lots and lots of variety on my Reboot! Woo hoo!

    My sweet hubby and I had a “sleep-in Sunday,” too! We stayed up REALLY LATE last night and just got out of bed about an hour ago. lol 🙂

    Can’t wait until tomorrow!

    Love & Hugs!

    Patti 🙂 ❤

    P.S. Speaking of washing dishes. I have to go clean my kitchen! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day 5 | My Juicing Adventure

Leave a Reply

