Blueberries for Breakfast (Recipe)

Oh bother, it’s been “One of those days”.

The morning started out wonderful. I made a delicious breakfast juice recipe, which turned out to be my favorite recipe so far! I drank that, and had some scrambled eggs with it. Nom nom.ย Yum yum.

Then the day started to head South. It is unseasonably warm out (55*F), so all the snow is melting off our roof, our deck, and our street and all the water is running to our backyard and filling our septic tank. So now the sink and the shower fill up if you run the water. As a result, I had to take my stinky self over to our grandparents and use their shower, which has zero water pressure and the shower head is so low I hit my head on it whenever I rinse my hair. >.< But at least I can stand to be around myself now! lol

Then, my grandparents invite us to go out to dinner with them and Mister’s Aunt and Uncle to Ponderosa (buffet restaurant) and I’m trying to start a Juice Fast here in 2 days, so it’s the last place I want to go! We really don’t eat out a lot either. So the though of it is like “Blah.” But it’ll be good to see family!

That wasn’t the only dinner invitation we received. Mister’s best friend’s wife texted me, inviting us over for dinner on Monday evening. Monday evening! I’m starting this thing Monday morning! People are coming out of the woodwork all of a sudden to invite us to eat! It’s going to be hard not eating, because 1) I love food, and 2) I don’t want to offend anyone! But I’m really looking forward to the fellowship! ๐Ÿ™‚

Next, my internet decides not to work! Upon countless refreshes of the page and growing more and more frustrated, I finally just shut my computer down and gave up. Well, Mister comes home from getting a load of firewood, and I tell him of my woes. He asks me, “Well is the ‘internet box’ plugged in?” Of course it is, doesn’t he think I checked that! I unplugged the link thing that plugs into the box and plugged it back in, in order to restart the internet,ย just as he told me to do in the past! Duh! (I tend to start having an attitude when I grow frustrated over something. Maybe I’ll add it to my goals list as something to work on! lol) Well, anyways, I turn both our computers on now, and still no internet. Grumble grumble, grouch grouch. So he goes over to check out the box, and you know what? The internet box wasn’t plugged in to the power outlet on the wall! ย I checked all the plugs that goย intoย the box, but not the outlet itself. Duuuurrrrrr!

Well, now that I have internet and I’ve had a shower, I’m here to post a delicious recipe!Fruit Prep

Here it is:

  • ย ย  1 med. sweet potato (unpeeled)
  • ย  ย 2 D’anjou pears
  • ย  ย 1 red apple (I used Gala, you can use whatever you want. It’s really just preference. Iย don’tย like Red Delicious.)
  • ย  ย 1/2 pint blueberries

I quartered the pears, apple, and sweet potato. Then fed them all into my juicer, and I was amazed at how much juice I got. This recipe made 30 fl. oz! So I’ll drink 16 -20 oz. as a breakfast with a couple ice cubes added, and then the remainder for a midafternoon snack! Yum, I can’t wait to make it again

Blueberries are my favorite fruit in the world. I could eat them by the handful! So I was thrilled to find a recipe that largely featured them!

There isn’t a single green veggie in this recipe (which is probably why I like it so much) so I wouldn’t recommend it as a lunch or dinner juice.

5 thoughts on “Blueberries for Breakfast (Recipe)

  1. You poor dear! Well, the day can only get BETTER from this point forward, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    First, thanks for sharing such a great recipe! Yummy! Going straight to my juicing recipe bookmarks for my juice fast! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Second, I’m so VERY SORRY you are having one of THOSE days! That sucks! **BIG GENTLE LOVING HUG**

    Is that Murphy’s Law at work or what with the lunch/dinner invitations and you beginning your juice fast in two days (on the day of your dinner invite from your friends)?! That’s gonna be rough to eat dinner with friends and just drink a glass of juice on your first day! If you need to postpone to the starting on the 15th just let me know. I’m flexible! ๐Ÿ™‚

    However, you could juice and eat a salad at your friend’s house to get you through the dinner without too much temptation. I’m sure she’ll support you all the way, too, if you let her know. ๐Ÿ™‚ I totally understand. I love food, too! I have never, ever met a food I didn’t like! (Of course, I’ve never had tripe or haggis.)

    Where you are a lover of all things sweet, I am a lover of all things salty and crunchy! My sweet hubby is like you — never met a sweet he didn’t like. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great blog post today, hon. Your honest really made me smile!

    Hope you and your family have a GREAT WEEKEND! Also, good luck at dinner tonight and Monday! I hope your water issues get resolved very soon!

    Love & Hugs,

    Patti ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    • Patti, I know it would make Monday’s dinner party easier if I were to just start on Tuesday, but I decided to start on Monday the 14th, and I fully intend it! I made a commitment and I have to hold to that, especially right at the start, or it’ll just become easier and easier to let things slide once the Cleanse gets tough!
      So we’re still on for Monday! Ready or not! lol
      I just wish I hadn’t offered to bring dessert! >.< I looove to bake though, so I just wont eat any, and any leftovers are NOT coming home with me! lol

      • Oh, how I love your attitude! Atta girl! WTG! ๐Ÿ™‚

        I hope your dinner with your grandparents tonight is lovely (even if it is a food buffet — my son and I used to love to go to Ponderosa when he was little). ๐Ÿ™‚

        BTW, I’m having all kinds of problems replying to your latest post in your forum in the Reboot community. I keep getting these weird errors telling me my author info (?) and e-mail address are invalid. Sigh…. So, I’ll post here what I have been trying to post on the Reboot Forum for hours! (Below my sign off.)

        Much love & hugs,

        Patti ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

        "Thanks for the great welcome, Freckles! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Kombucha Tea is definitely an acquired taste — especially, I think, if your palate prefers sweet over sour/tangy. Luckily for me, I prefer sour/tangy/salty/bitter tastes over sweet. So, I love my homemade Kombucha Tea. Now, if you make your own there are different flavorings you can use if you prefer to bottle your own brew. You can add fresh fruit and herbs to the bottoms of your bottles and then fill them up with your brewed Kombucha, seal and let them continue to brew to bring out the carbonation and fruity/herb-y flavors. Some people love that method best to get over the strong "apple cider-y" taste to regular Kombucha. ๐Ÿ™‚

        I am very excited to do my initial shopping on Monday morning — I think I'm just going to buy ingredients every three or four days to keep my produce as fresh as possible and to get me out of the house more often. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Love & Hugs to all!

        Patti ๐Ÿ™‚ <3"

      • Patti, is so strange but I’ve been having the same trouble with replying to posts on the Reboot Forum. I use Google Chrome, and I found that if I open an “Incognito Window” and sign in to the Forum that way, it lets me post. It’s really weird lately.

        I do definitely prefer sweet over tangy, maybe once I’ve been drinking a lot of juice and getting used to tastes like sour and bitter, I’ll be able to stomach Kombucha! I really can’t stand the taste of apple cider. Sometimes if I have a sore throat I’ll gargle it and then swallow, and right away my eyes start to tear and my throat burns and blachk! My husband drinks it every morning! More power to him! lol
        I’m really impressed that you make your own! If I were to try it again I would definitely make my own. It’s soooo expensive to buy the bottles of it!
        For my shopping schedule I’ll probably buy a weeks worth of things like apples, pears, lemons, carrots and beets. Things that last. The leafy greens I’ll have to buy more often.
        This is just more of my “scheduling” though, I’m sure once I actually start I’ll find that it’s not realistic to go so long without buying more of everything! lol
        โค

      • Hi, Freckles! I use Google Chrome, too! I was able to post in the forum this morning. If I get those posting errors again, I’ll be sure to use the Incognito tip! Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

        I hope you’ll be able to give Kombucha Tea another try some day. I wonder if all this juicing will change our taste habits and preferences? Hmmmm. That would be interesting, I think.

        Our fridge isn’t big enough to hold a week’s worth of fresh produce (especially when it will be filled with all of the junk my sweet hubby likes to eat — processed lunch meat and tuna salad and condiments and diet soda and baked hams, etc… So, I’ll have to plan my strategy to buy everything a few days worth at a time. Wish I had a fridge with larger and deeper “crisper” drawers. That would be wonderful! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Toodles for now! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

Leave a Reply

