Ode to Broccoli (Recipe) -Updated!

Update:

So I made the Broccoli Juice and honestly, it was only alright. I think it could definitely use some improvement. Someone might like it just the way it is though, so go ahead and make the original recipe! For myself, however, I am going to make these changes in the future:

  • 1 thick stalk broccoli with a bushy head
  • 2 oranges (peeled)
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 green apple

(This recipe makes roughly 16 fl. oz. depending on the size of your fruit and veggies. I got exactly 16 fl. oz.)

It was definitely needing an apple to sweeten it up. I’ve read that, other than the breakfast juice, you should stick to a ratio of 75% veggies to 25% fruit.  I’m going to take some advice that I’ve seen by starting with more fruit and gradually adding in more veggies until I can stomach the “green” taste.

Original Post:

I’m really excited for dinner tonight! I’m making Chicken + Biscuits hamburgers for Mister (the hubby), and I’ll have a little bit myself (I’m still phasing in, remember?), but I can’t wait to make this evening’s juice!

It’ll be my third juice that I’ve made, and I hope it’s a good one.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2-1 head broccoli (florets and stalks)
  • 2 oranges (peeled)
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 carrot

It’s called Oh Sweet Broccoli and I can’t decide if I think it sounds tasty or not. I guess I’ll just have to see. I’m not sure I really like cucumbers in my juice, or maybe it’s celery that I find offensive. The celery I used in last nights recipe was really old so that might have been it. But I did still enjoy last nights juice!

4 thoughts on “Ode to Broccoli (Recipe) -Updated!

  1. OMG! Love your blog! You are so organized! I just left a reply to your “Reboot Forum” about starting your minimum 30-day Reboot on 01/14/2013.

    Wow! I love the Weigh-in Results area, the Exercise Schedule and the Daily Schedule and Goals area. I’ll have to see if I can add any similar widgets to my current blog. Hmmmmmm. You are definitely inspiring me to do better with my new blog, that’s for sure!

    Anyway, I’m looking forward to being a new juicing buddy through the Reboot website and sharing this marvelous, healthy adventure with you and whoever else is going to join your Reboot forum!

    Love & Hugs,

    Patti 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Thanks, Patti! I find I need to list things out specifically for myself or they just get thrown to the wayside! I refer to them as my “Accountability Schedules”. haha
      For the most part, my widgets on the side are simply the “Text” widget and I’ve just added in my stuff!
      I’m really quite blog illiterate. lol
      I’m so excited about starting this Juice Journey! Thanks for hopping on board with me! I love the Steps of your Big Plan on your blog. I hadn’t even thought of fermented foods in my diet once I finish my Juice Fast!
      Oh, and thanks for the shout out on your blog too! 😀

      ❤ Freckles

      • Hi, Freckles!

        Lurve, lurve, lurve that nickname! (My mother is covered in freckles being a redhead and so is my son. I truly love my precious Gingers!)

        I am also a compulsive list maker. When I was working I used to have little yellow post-it notes framing my computer console with little “helpful hints” of information!

        Hey, you are already more blog literate that I am! I didn’t even attempt to do any text widgets. I just stuck with the “canned” widgets available. Obviously, you are more adventurous than me! I’m going to play around with the text widgets soon. Daring! 🙂

        I am happy to join you and meet you! Really looking forward to doing this with you and the others joining your forum in the Reboot Community. 🙂

        Fermented Foods ROCK! I just got into learning about fermentation a few months ago. I’ve made a few batches of sauerkraut (YUMMY!) and some pickled garlic-radish-carrots combo that knocks my socks off! So delicious!

        Just made my first batch of Kombucha tea last week and started drinking some this week (takes about 8 days before you can taste it to see if it’s ready). Treated myself to a Continuous Brewing System from the Kombucha Mama via her Kombucha website at: http://www.kombuchakamp.com/ So glad I did! It’s AWESOME!

        Wishing you a GREAT WEEKEND!

        Patti ❤

  2. Pingback: Day 2 (Updated-1) (Non-Juicers Recipe) | My Juicing Adventure

Leave a Reply

