The start of a new beginning (First recipe)

After having removed my juicer from it’s box and washing all the parts, I have to say it is one sturdy piece of equipment.  I just made and drank my first juice. I haven’t officially started though, so I had it with some peanut butter on a homemade whole wheat flour tortilla. Boy, was it ever de-lic-ious! Surprisingly smooth and mellow, yet green tasting.

Here’s what I used to make it:

  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 oranges (peeled)
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 2 green apples
  • 2 carrots
  • 3 kale leaves
  • 3 handfuls spinach

I still haven’t come up with a name for it though.  Hmmm… Maybe I’ll call it Green Beginnings. I did take a couple amateur photos, I’ll post those A.S.A.P.

Some tips that I found helpful:

  • Prep all your fruits and veggies before you begin juicing (wash everything, peel what needs to be peeled, and cut any that need to be smaller).
  • Line your pulp container with a plastic produce bag for really easy clean up (when you’re finished juicing just remove the bag, discard, and you’re done!).
  • Begin by juicing softer fruits and veggies first, working your way up to the hard ones.
  • Pour your juice into serving size glasses and place in the fridge. While your juice chills, clean your juicer! I did this this evening and it was wonderful to be able to sit and enjoy my juice and not have to juggle drinking with cleaning, or waiting to clean and finding stuff dried on the blade.

I’ll have a juice a day (maybe two) along with solid food as well until Monday, when the real fun starts!

Leave a Reply

